Cathedral, Helsinki


Ski jumps with observation tower, in Kuopio, Finland.



Map Helsinki


Scandinavia Map


Finland Flag


Finland Map



Lutheran Cathedral, Senate Square, Helsinki.


Finland map


Finland was a province and then a grand duchy under Sweden from the 12th to the 19th centuries and an autonomous grand duchy of Russia after 1809. It won its complete independence in 1917. During World War II, it was able to successfully defend its freedom and resist invasions by the Soviet Union - albeit with some loss of territory. In the subsequent half century, the Finns made a remarkable transformation from a farm/forest economy to a diversified modern industrial economy; per capita income is now on par with Western Europe. As a member of the European Union, Finland was the only Nordic state to join the euro system at its initiation in January 1999.


Uspenski Cathedral, in the background, Helsinki.


Geographic Guide - Scandinavia Pictures. Travel Guide Europe. All rights reserved.


Country name: Republic of Finland (local: Suomen Tasavalta).

Capital: Helsinki. It is northernmost national capital on European continent.

Government type: republic.

Administrative divisions: 6 provinces (laanit, singular - laani); Aland, Etela-Suomen Laani, Ita-Suomen Laani, Lansi-Suomen Laani, Lappi, Oulun Laani.

Terrain: mostly low, flat to rolling plains interspersed with lakes and low hills .

Total area: 337,030 kmē.

Coastline: 1,126 km (excludes islands and coastal indentations).

Highest point: Halti 1,328 m.

Climate: cold temperate; potentially subarctic but comparatively mild because of moderating influence of the North Atlantic Current, Baltic Sea, and more than 60,000 lakes.

Ports and harbors: Hamina, Helsinki, Kokkola, Kotka, Loviisa, Oulu, Pori, Rauma, Turku, Uusikaupunki, Varkaus.


Main source: CIA - The World Factbook 2004.


Ski Finland


Helsinki Finland